The Library Editor
From the web editor you can share a Library using the Manage Access button next to the Library name. This will launch the sharing options dialogue.Â
There are three sharing options available.
- Shared with All – this option is only available to Admins and Exec Editors. It automatically adds the Library to an instructor’s list of Libraries.
- Shared for Discovery – this option makes a Library available from the Manage Libraries page but requires manually adding the Library. It will not display in their list of Libraries until they manually add it.
- Shared with Named Colleagues – this is the most granular option. A Library can be shared directly with a subset of instructors. When this option is selected you can see a full list of colleagues or search by their email address. In the above example, this Library is only shared with one other person.
The view when selecting to share with Named Colleagues
Additional Configuration Options
Extensible
When you share a Library you can define whether it is Extensible – meaning others can personalize it for their use including adding new Groups, new Comments to existing Groups, and tweaking existing Comments to suit their needs.Â
No one can edit your underlying content, even if you share it.
If Extensible is toggled OFF and you share a Library others can use it, but they cannot add their own content to it or personalize your content.
SelectedÂ
To help with organizing content, Libraries can be set to Selected or Unselected. This allows Libraries you aren’t actively using to be hidden from view and not appear in search (Unselected).Â
When an Admin or Exec Editor sets a Library to share to All users, they can toggle the Library to be Selected which will make it automatically appear for all users.Â
How To Share
- From the web editor go to Edit & Share > Edit or Share a Library.Â
- Choose a specific Library from the dropdown.Â
- Click Manage Access
- Select the level of sharing you want to do. If you do not want to share a Library, set it to No – Private to you.
- Select whether the Library should be Active and/or Selected. (See above for details on what these options mean).
- Changes save automatically, and you can click Close.
IMPORTANT: changes to a Library do not automatically ‘push’ to users of that Library. AP for Chrome refreshes automatically every 24 hours, so the maximum time someone might go without a change is 24 hours. (Unfortunately AP for Word requires a manual refresh.) Users can Refresh their content at any time (assuming they have an Internet connection) by clicking the gear icon and the choosing Refresh. AP will pull down any changes to selected Libraries.


