Editing Content

Edit Selected Comments

This view is designed to give you quick access to ALL the content in your selected Libraries. Click Edit in the main menu, then Selected Comments. This view is useful for keeping open while you are using AP, so you can quickly tweak your content.

In the example at the right, three Libraries are selected (#1) out of 8 active Libraries. We can check off more Libraries or choose a Group from one of the Selected Libraries to see its Comments.

The Motivation Station Edition Library cannot be edited (#2) – as defined by its author.

Notice (#3) that you can Show or Hide inactive Comments and Groups and also Print (to hardcopy or PDF) and Export your selected Comments.

Edit a Specific Comment

Editing Comments is as easy as clicking into a Label or Text area and typing.

Notice that the text of the Comment allows for text editing – boldingitalics etc. See our article on formatting text to understand how different platforms (Word, Google Docs etc.) deal with text formatting. 

Notice the green toggles labeled Active and Favorite below the text of the Comment. Click a toggle like this to flip it:

  • Inactive Comments do not show up in AP for Chrome or Word.
  • Favorite Comments appear as blue buttons in AP for Chrome and Word for quick access. They also appear in the top level of the AP for Chrome right-click menu.

Notice that you can Select a Comment and then use the Move button to move it to another Library/Group.

Annotate PRO will save your changes as you go…notice the small “All changes saved” message at the bottom of the screenshot.

Edit a Shared Comment

This screenshot shows the custom section of a shared Comment with the focus on creating a custom Label – the area highlighted with “Vague Thesis.”

Notice that this Comment is set to the Default, which means that AP would use the default values in the Word and Chrome apps.

To create a customized version of this shared Comment, edit the Custom Label and/or Custom Text. The Default toggle will automatically flip to Custom (you can flip it back if you want to use the Default). Your changes will save automatically.

Edit a Specific Library

Choose Edit then Libraries to edit Library names, Groups contained in a Library, and the Comments associated with Groups.

You must have editing rights to a Library to edit and/or extend it.

You can collapse the Selected Library Details panel by clicking on its title – to better focus on the Library’s Groups and Comments listed below.

Once you select a Library from the drop down the details of that Library will appear. If you did not author the Library not all options will be editable by you:

  • Name
    • How your Library will appear in drop downs.
  •  Description
    • Additional descriptive text useful for searching and sharing.
  • Insert Name
    • The AP Microsoft Word 2016 app supports specifying the name that will appear on inserted comments. This is useful, potentially, for tutoring organizations that want a general name to appear in feedback, not that of a particular Microsoft user account. This feature is not supported in Google Docs (your Google account name will appear).
  • Availability
    • There are 4 potential choices, depending on your license level. “Active” means a Library is available in the drop down to be selected (checked off) for use. The choices are:
      • Not Active
      • Active (personal)
      • Active – Shared (informal)
      • Active – Shared (formal)
    • “Informal” means a Library is available to others for discovery and activation. You must have authored a Library to share it. Libraries shared this way will only be useful to others if they go looking for them. Note: once others begin using a Library that has been shared, access to that Library cannot be rescinded. Depending on your point of view, this is a feature or a defect (!). Feedback welcome!
    • “Formal” means a Library will automatically appear in a user’s drop down. The ability to share a Library in this way is only available to Annotate PRO administrators with an institutional license.
  • Extensibility
    • If you choose to share a Library, will those who use it be able to customize it for their own specific use? That is, will they be able to add new Groups, new Comments, and create custom versions of the default content?
    • Users will only be able to create personal content; they will not be able to edit the underlying, default content.
  • Selected
    • Does the Library appear as checked in the Annotate pop up (what you see when you click the green ‘A’ or type ALT-A)?
  • Translate
    • Does Google Translate appear as an option? Turning this off is only useful to save a bit of vertical space and also to decrease cognitive overload in new users.

Edit, Sort and Create Groups

In the Edit / Libraries view, after choosing a specific Library, you will see its Groups listed on the left side of the page.

Click a Group to see its Comments displayed (#1). If you authored the Group it will be bolded and you can click the Edit icon in its row to edit its name and active/inactive status.

Drag Groups you created to reorder them, then click Update in the Groups column.

Notice that “Lit Review” has an edit icon (#3) and is bolded while “Organization” is not. The “Organization” Group was shared with the current user while “Lit Review” was created by the current user.

Click New Groups column to create a new Group.